Apply for Public Assistance

What is the Public Assistance Program?

The Public Assistance Grant program administers federal assistance to State and local government agencies and certain private nonprofits (PNP) following a Presidential Disaster Declaration. The federal share of assistance is not less than 75 percent of the eligible cost incurred as a direct result of the disaster. Eligible costs include debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of publicly owned facilities and facilities of certain PNPs, with the potential of mitigation measures to lessen the impact of future events.



Who Can Apply?

Eligible applicants include states, federally recognized tribal governments (including Alaska Native villages and organizations so long as they are not privately owned), U.S. territories, local governments, and certain Private Nonprofit Organizations (PNP).*

Are you an individual who is experiencing difficulties post-disaster? If so, please visit our Individual Assistance Program page for help and more information.


Application Process Resources



  • State of Maryland Administrative Plan
  • Public Assistance Program and Policy Guide
  • Stafford Act



  • FEMA Public Assistance Page
  • FEMA Public Assistance Schedule of Equipment Rates
  • Public Assistance Tri-Fold
  • MEMA Public Assistance Damage Assessment Guidelines  
  • MEMA Public Assistance Eligible Costs & Documentation Guidelines


  • Public Assistance Initial Damage Assessment Form
  • Public Assistance Impact Statement Form


* PNPs must have “an effective ruling letter from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service, granting tax exemption under sections 501(c), (d), or (e) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, or satisfactory evidence from the State that the non-revenue producing organization or entity is a nonprofit one organized or doing business under State law.” Additionally, for a PNP operated facility to be eligible, the PNP must demonstrate the facility provides a critical service or provides a non-critical, but essential government service and is open to the general public. A facility that provides a critical service is defined as one used for an educational, utility, emergency, or medical purpose.